Lifetime Achievement Award

Rancho Santa Fe resident A. Brent Eastman, M.D., was presented with the 2015 Neil Morgan Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement by LEAD San Diego at their 13th Annual Visionary Awards. Nearly 900 business and community leaders attended the event to honor those who make a difference throughout San Diego and beyond.

Dr. Eastman is a general, vascular, and trauma surgeon who serves as chief medical officer of Scripps Health and is the N. Paul Whittier chair of trauma at Scripps Memorial Hospital in La Jolla. One of Dr. Eastman’s most notable accomplishments is his founding of the San Diego County Trauma System, which is now 30 years old and regarded as a model system worldwide. Since its development in 1984, the percentage of preventable trauma deaths in San Diego County has made a significant decline from 22 percent to just one percent. In addition to this major contribution, Dr. Eastman is also the co-creator of the Scripps Medical Response Team. The response team is made up of doctors, nurses, and support staff who travel around the world as needed to aid those who are affected by devastating natural disasters. Dr. Eastman has provided hands-on support to the team, traveling with them to New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina and to Haiti after the 2010 earthquake.

Dr. Eastman was one of three Rancho Santa Fe residents to be awarded by LEAD San Diego this year. LEAD San Diego has provided education and dialogue on issues of regional importance for 33 years, helping a cross-section of community leaders become more informed, civically engaged, and active participants in projects that positively impact their communities. For more information on the awards and LEAD San Diego visit